How the G7 Works

Canada will be hosting the 2018 G7 Summit in Charlevoix Quebec but what is the G7 and how does it impact you?

Well, the G7 is a group of 7 countries which includes Canada, France, US, UK, Germany, Japan, Italy, and the European Union that gets together to discuss world issues.

The G7 is a consensus-based forum.  Decisions must be agreed upon by all members.

These discussions are taken into consideration when a country proposes new strategies and policies.

Over the past 40 years, the G7 has strengthened international economic and security policy, mainstreamed climate change and gender equality.

Follow us for more info.

On screen: 2018 G7 logo

On screen: Website:, Facebook: CanadaG7 or G7Canada, Twitter: @G7 or @G7fr

On screen: Canada Wordmark

G7 history

The G7 began in the mid-1970s, with Italy joining in 1975, and Canada in 1976.

G7 Members

A brief introduction to the 2018 G7 members.

G7 Presidency

The G7 Presidency rotates every year.

G7 President

The country that holds the G7 Presidency hosts and organizes the G7 Summit.


Personal representatives — or Sherpas — are appointed by each G7 Leader to help with preparations for the Leaders’ Summit.

International issues

The G7 plays a powerful role in impacting world issues.