Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada
G7

Archived - About Nunavut

This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Iqaluit, host venue of the February meeting of G7 Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors, is the capital of Nunavut, Canada’s largest, newest and most northerly federal territory. Covering one-fifth of the country, Nunavut, which is about the size of Western Europe, stretches through three time zones across the top of North America. Nunavut includes the community of Alert, the northernmost permanently inhabited place in the world, which is only 817 kilometers (508 miles) from the North Pole.

The mainland portion of the territory is an almost untouched wilderness, where the stark northern tundra changes into cliffs and plateaus along the Northwest Passage. To the north and east, the Arctic Islands are surrounded by pack ice for most of the year and the region extends to the glaciers, jagged mountains and fjords of the eastern shores of Baffin and Ellesmere Islands.

Nunavut, which means “our land” in Inuktitut, the regional Inuit language, was born April 1, 1999, as the new eastern Arctic territory was partitioned off from the old Northwest Territories. It marked the conclusion of more than two decades of efforts on the part of the Inuit people of the eastern and central Arctic to take control of their own lives and destiny.

Under the 1993 Nunavut Land Claims Agreement, Inuit gained control of about 356,000 square kilometers of land (about one-fifth of the territory). The Nunavut Land Claims Agreement also gave Inuit the right to self-government and self-determination.

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada
G7

Archivée - À propos du Nunavut

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

 

La ville d’Iqaluit, où se tiendra la rencontre de février des ministres des Finances et des gouverneurs des banques centrales du G7, est la capitale du Nunavut, le territoire canadien le plus grand, le plus récent et le plus nordique du pays. Le Nunavut, dont la taille correspond à peu près à celle de l’Europe de l’Ouest, couvre le cinquième du Canada et s’étend sur trois fuseaux horaires dans la partie la plus boréale de l’Amérique du Nord. Il comprend notamment la collectivité d’Alert, le lieu habité en permanence le plus septentrional au monde, situé à seulement 817 kilomètres (508 milles) du pôle Nord.

La partie continentale du territoire est une vaste étendue essentiellement sauvage où la toundra boréale austère fait place à des falaises et des plateaus le long du passage du Nord­Ouest. Au nord et à l’est, les îles de l’Arctique sont entourées de banquises presque à longueur d’année, et la région s’étend jusqu’aux glaciers, aux montagnes irrégulières et aux fjords qui marquent les côtes orientales des îles de Baffin et d’Ellesmere.

Le Nunavut (terme signifiant « notre terre » en inuktitut, la langue des Inuits de la région) a été créé le 1er avril 1999, lorsque le territoire de l’Arctique de l’Est a été retranché des Territoires du Nord­Ouest. Sa création a couronné plus de deux décennies d’efforts déployés par les Inuits du centre et de l’est de l’Arctique pour assumer le contrôle de leur vie et de leur destinée.

En vertu de l’Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut de 1993, les Inuits ont obtenu le contrôle d’une superficie de près de 356 000 kilomètres carrés, soit environ le cinquième du territoire, ainsi que le droit à l’autonomie gouvernementale et à l’autodétermination.